I'm going back, back… #11

Road to Alcala

The day has arrived. I had to leave my little haven in the mountains and return to reality. I woke up at the butt crack of DAWN, tired and wanting to cling to my sheets and cry until mom let me stay in bed just a little longer.
I packed pretty well yesterday, so this morning was just a matter of gathering up all the loose ends and making sure everything made it into the car. Not too hectic overall. I couldn’t find the house owner last night or anyone from the agency, so I was just a little bit freaked out. How the heck am I going to return their keys? Are they going to charge me? Etc. Etc. But I need not have fretted. There was a drop box at the agency and thank goodness my house was in the same town.
So I had a peaceful drive. There was hardly anyone on the roads this morning at 7:30 – 8:00. Too early for Spaniards, I guess. There were plenty of workers coming into the pueblos, but going, not so many.
So yeah, I made it into Granada without incident neither with myself nor with the car. It was quite a feat seeing as I was very scatterbrained this morning. I kept doing things like looking down at the floor to pick up my cookies going around a mountain curve, or adjusting the heat and veering onto the other side of the road.
It was a miracle I made it here in one piece.
Even after I gave myself a stern warning, the foolishness continued. Don’t know if it was because I was tired or rebelling or what. But I made it. Thank goodness.
I am hoping that this flight is rather empty like the other one was and that I’m not stuck in next to Mr. Elbows again. Good god. I have to go home and figure out how the heck I’m going to get to Barcelona either tonight or tomorrow. I know, I know. I should have been booked the crap, but I just wasn’t committed. Noncommitance (YES, I know it’s not a word) always causes problems.
I am sitting here in the “cafeteria” of the Federico Garcia Lorca airport, in what has to be the world’s smallest airport in the world. The cafeteria is the entire airport. Like I don’t even have to go to a gate it seems. We’re just all sitting in this giant holding tank. And I still have an hour until my flight leaves. I knew I shoulda just kept on driving to Jaen. Hehe
Okay, I will wrap it up now and say, muchas gracias for everyone’s support with the book, with this retreat, and for all the support I will need in the near future. 😉 I have summer research again. Whew.
I may just keep going with this daily reflection thing. Who knows.
Peace out.
Monique
Leave a Reply

