Breathe Me #4

So this morning, I didn’t wake up so much in peace as I have the other nights. I did wake up and realize what song I absolutely have to learn, Breathe Me, by Sia. And I will dedicate it to one of my friends. Because every time I hear it, I think of her. And she was on my mind yesterday. See how they always run around each other my thoughts?

Or maybe it’s because I was ambushed last night.

This is what happened. I was climbing up the stairs, exhausted by my nightly racket making/karaoking. I went to close the shutters in front of the bed so I wouldn’t be woken up by the glaring sun when the ambush occurred. A ten-foot lizard jumped off the ceiling onto my neck and  started trying to choke me! So I’m screaming and flailing and trying to get him off. But my arms were so weak from playing that he was getting the better of me. I fell to the ground and I could feel my face turning blue, and I started thinking of all the people I didn’t get to say goodbye to, and he was going, “Yeah, I got you now, BLEEP!”

Hehe, okay, obviously it didn’t really happen that way. But I was amused.

But I did catch his little big behind running up the wall, even though he was only about 6 or 7 inches long (which, might I add is STILL rather freaking long!). And so after that, I was a little spooked. I forgot that just because I paid to be up in the mountains doesn’t mean I removed the rights of mountain creatures to roam where they pleased. And I swear I heard all kinds of strange noises. Bangings and thumps and god knows what. But I refused to get out of bed. This was to be no horror movie in Bubion this year. If they want me, I repeat, they must COME AND GET ME! And I’ll be propped up in bed like Annie Oakley (or my grandma) with my sawed off, and rollers in my hair.

(I hope all this make believe creativity makes it on over to novel writing time)

So yeah, I finally fell asleep and woke up with Breath Me in my head. If you haven’t heard it, I’ve put it underneath the picture so you can listen. It’s one of the best songs I’ve heard in a long time, well, since my Nikka days, as far as ballady type songs go.

And also, I think this place might be haunted.

It might explain the noises last night, and also, yesterday I was trying to light the stove, because it’s gas of course, and the lighter wouldn’t work. So I waltzed on over to my purse to fetch my lighter (and by the way, I’m not smoking. I’ve been in remission for two weeks I think), anyway, so I’m strolling back to the stove singing, Go Tell It on the Mountain, and the damn thing ignites! Right there in front of my face! I almost fell over. I wasn’t even close enough to touch the sink let alone the stove.

Since now I’m convinced something’s going on. Didn’t Stephen King write a book about a writer in the mountains who gets killed or kidnapped or possessed or something? Uh oh…

On a non-Monique’s-getting-to-much-fresh-air-and-going-crazy tip, I have a little buddy that comes and visits me every day. He’s a cute little bird. And while I’m sitting at the table pecking away at the keys, he lands on the door and scares the crap out of me, but once I can breath again, he tweets a couple times and then he goes about his way. How cute is that?

Today, I have mucho writing to do because I did more strumming than typing yesterday. So let’s get this party started.

Go, tell it on the mountain. Over the hills and down through la  la la al ala a (I forgot the words)

Leave a Reply

